Department of Excellence

The Departments of Excellence represent an innovative and financially supportive intervention, provided for by Law 232 of 2016 (Budget Law 2017), to identify and finance, on a five-yearly basis, the best 180 Departments of State Universities.

These are departments that stand out for the quality of the research produced and the quality of the development project, to which an annual budget of €271 million is allocated.

For the five-year period 2018 - 2022, ANVUR has announced the list of 180 Departments of Excellence eligible for funding. The UniGe winners are the Department of Neuroscience, Rehabilitation, Ophthalmology, Genetics and Maternal and Child Sciences - DINOGMI and the Department of Physics - DIFI.

A new integrated research laboratory, called DIFILAB, has been established at the Valletta Puggia Cluster.